• If you are citizen of an European Union member nation, you may not use this service unless you are at least 16 years old.

  • You already know Dokkio is an AI-powered assistant to organize & manage your digital files & messages. Very soon, Dokkio will support Outlook as well as One Drive. Check it out today!



Page history last edited by hmw51@cam.ac.uk 12 years, 5 months ago

In 2005, the International Federation of Library Associations (IFLA) issued the Alexandria Proclamation. It included the following:


“information literacy and lifelong learning are the beacons of the Information Society, illuminating the courses to development, prosperity and freedom.

Information Literacy lies at the core of lifelong learning. It empowers people in all walks of life to seek, evaluate, use and create information effectively to achieve their personal, social, occupational and educational goals. It is a basic human right in a digital world and promotes social inclusion of all nations.

Lifelong learning enables individuals, communities and nations to attain their goals and to take advantage of emerging opportunities in the evolving global environment for shared benefit. It assists them and their institutions to meet technological, economic and social challenges, to redress disadvantage and to advance the well being of all.”

IFLA, 2005, http://archive.ifla.org/III/wsis/BeaconInfSoc.html (accessed 9/12/2011)

This proclamation has informed the development of A New Curriculum for Information Literacy (ANCIL). According to Coonan and Secker (2011)

“This short project seeks to develop a practical curriculum for information literacy that meets the needs of the undergraduate student entering higher education over the next five years.”

Their aims were:

“To understand the information needs of future undergraduate students on entering higher education

To develop a revolutionary curriculum for information literacy that can be used with undergraduate students entering UK higher education

To  equip students with the knowledge, skills and behaviour around information use to support their learning in the digital age

To develop a flexible curriculum that can be used and adapted in a variety of settings

To support face to face, blended and online learning provision” (Coonan and Secker, 2011)

ANCIL consists of ten strands:

  1. Transition into Higher Education
  2. Becoming an independent learner
  3. Developing academic literacies
  4. Mapping and evaluating the information landscape
  5. Resource discovery within discipline
  6. Managing information
  7. Ethical dimension of information
  8. Presenting and communicating knowledge
  9. Synthesising information and creating new knowledge

     10. Social dimension of information

falling within five categories:

  1. Key skills
  2. Academic literacies
  3. Subject specific competencies
  4. Advanced information handling
  5. Learning to learn

The curriculum is intended to be used across an undergraduate’s timeline in the University, it is designed to be progressive in delivery, building a set of information skills which will culminate in an information literate independent learner. This has been likened to a spiral scaffold “, allowing learners to develop an informed and reflective understanding of their subject and of their own learner identity in relation to it.” (Coonan and Secker, 2011).


The curriculum and supporting documentation is available HERE . 


UPDATE: 12th January 2012 ANCIL announces its own definition of Information Literacy at libraries@cambridge 2012


           Information Literacy is a continuum of skills, behaviours, approaches and values that is so deeply entwined with the uses of information as to be a           fundamental element of learning, scholarship and research.

          It is the defining characteristic of the discerning scholar, the informed and judicious citizen, and the autonomous learner.


Comments (0)

You don't have permission to comment on this page.